An Open Letter to the Significant Other of an Aspiring Author

Open Letter

Dear Significant Other:

As an aspiring author, I’m here to ask one thing: please read. Maybe we don’t write your “type” of stuff. Maybe you’re not in to poetry or young adult romance or suspense thrillers or three-act plays. But I’m here to ask you to read your significant other’s writing…without their asking, if possible.

Does the aspiring author in your life have a blog? Follow it…and read the posts they put up.

Did he ask you to read a poem? Do it…and don’t complain.

Did she ask you to read a scene in her novel? Read it…and perhaps offer advice on how her male characters should act or what they should say. That may be the whole reason she’s asking you to read it in the first place.

Yes, we will ask you to read things simply because it’s nice to know our writing is being read…by someone…anyone.

But also recognize that we are as hard on ourselves as our college senior English professors were/are/will be/would have been; and because of that, we may not want to show you our work. Perhaps it’s extremely close to our hearts, and we’re scared to crack our hearts open that much. Perhaps it’s a type of scene we’re not used to writing, and we’re unsure of dialogue…or slightly embarrassed that we even hinted at something that happened. (I still remember when my dad read my first “intimate scene.” I truly simply implied what the female character wanted to take place—not the act, not exactly what was happening—and he was shocked his daughter could write even that, at least for him to read!) But we need you to read it.

Understand, as well, that we aren’t trying to be social media addicts; however, from my research into the publishing world, I have learned that having a presence (a kept-up presence) on just about every social media platform possible, is a must: thus I am on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and WordPress. And I’m pretty certain my husband thinks I’m an insane addict.

In short, please be patient with us; please don’t think we’re devoting our lives to social media; and please, please, read our material!

Sincerely,
An Aspiring Author

2 thoughts on “An Open Letter to the Significant Other of an Aspiring Author

  1. Love this, inspiring writer. I agree. Hope you don’t mind. I’m posting this on my blog (https:guthrieswritingcottage.blog) and will (of course) give you and Paper Roses a pitch.
    Can’t wait. My blog will be launched shortly.

    Like

Leave a comment